Contact Stephanie Schuman,
Principal Counsel & Attorney-at-Law
212-933-9420

Virginia

Virginia Hemp Law:

Amendments to the Virginia Industrial Hemp Law published March 21, 2019, permit industrial hemp to be grown for commercial purposes. However, to possess hemp plants, viable hemp seed, hemp leaves, hemp microgreens, or hemp flowers in Virginia, you must be a registered Industrial Hemp Grower, Dealer, or Processor. You can apply to the Virginia Department of Agriculture to obtain a license. Currently, the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services is accepting Grower, Processor, and Dealer applications on a rolling basis. These licenses expire one year from the date of issuance.

Grower Registration:

  1. An individual who is applying for a grower registration must own the land, or he must have the authority to consent to entry on the land that he plans to use as a production field.
  2. The individual who is applying must pay the annual Industrial Hemp Grower Registration application fee of $50 made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.
  3. Fill out the Industrial Hemp Grower Application available here.
    • Note that individuals must fill out section 1(a) while businesses must fill out section 1(b). Do not fill out both.
  4. Mail the application fee and your application to O. Box 526 ⋅Richmond, VA 23218

Processor Registration:

  1. An individual who is applying for a Processor Registration must complete the Hemp Processor Application available here.
  2. The individual who is applying must pay the annual Industrial Hemp Processor Registration application fee of $50 made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.
    • Note that individuals must fill out section 1(a) while businesses fill out section 1(b). Do not fill out both.
  3. Mail the application fee and your application to O. Box 526 ⋅Richmond, VA 23218

Dealer Registration:

  1. An individual who is applying for a Dealer Registration must complete the Hemp Dealer Application available here.
  2. The individual who is applying must pay the annual Industrial Hemp Dealer Registration application fee of $50 made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.
    • Note that individuals must fill out section 1(a) while businesses fill out section 1(b). Do not fill out both.
  3. Mail the application fee and your application to O. Box 526 ⋅Richmond, VA 23218

Renewal Process for a Grower, Processor, or Dealer

If you wish to renew your Industrial Hemp Grower, Processor, or Dealer Registration, then you must complete the corresponding application. You must include your existing registration number and expiration date. Submit the $50 application fee, made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, for each application form that you submit. Submit this content to P.O. Box 526 ⋅Richmond, VA 23218

Changing or Adding a Production Field, Dealership, or Process Site

If you need to change or add a production field, process site, or dealership to your registration, you must complete the Industrial Hemp Registration Change Form. You are not permitted to grow, deal, or process hemp at a new location until you have submitted the change and receive the revised registration. You do not need to pay a fee for this change. You must email the completed form to [email protected] mail the completed form to:

Jasmine Harwell

VDACS/ OPPR

P.O. Box 1163

Richmond, VA 23218

Agent

A Grower, Processor, or Dealer may wish to have an agent. Virginia Industrial Hemp Law does not define “agent,” so Leaf Legal PC can help you define who is your agent. Additionally, it is not required but you may wish to fill out Agent Documentation forms. The Grower,Processor, and Dealer agent forms are available here.

Transferability of a Virginia Hemp License:

If you wish to transfer your license from business to an individual, then you need to resubmit section 1a, 2, and 5 of the application. If you wish to transfer your license from a business to a different business, you must resubmit forms 1b, 2, and 5. Note that in both of these transfer types, at least one original license holder must also be a subsequent license holder. If there is a complete change in people initially holding the license to the people holding the license after, then such change may be denied and the new company may need to submit their own license. 

If you are seeking to establish, sell or purchase, or operate a hemp business in Virginia, Contact the attorneys at Leaf Legal, P.C. to help you navigate the rapidly evolving Virginia Hemp Laws.

The Truth About the Risks

Know for sure whether your business is in compliance with state and local cannabis regulations.

Menu