The New Jersey Hemp Farming Act was enacted in August 2019. This new legislation complies with the 2018 Farm Bill, which authorized hemp producers to grow and sell hemp for commercial purposes.
The New Jersey Hemp Program is actively processing completed and typed 2021 hemp license applications. New applicants, please see the 2021 NJSP Background Check Instructions.
STEPS TO APPLY FOR NJ HEMP GROWER LICENSE
Anyone growing hemp in the State of New Jersey must successfully complete the full application process with the New Jersey Department of Agriculture (NJDA):
- Complete the Grower License Application
- Pay the $50 nonrefundable application fee
- Submit the application, the nonrefundable application fee, and all required attachments to:
New Jersey Department of Agriculture
P.O. Box 330
Trenton, New Jersey 08625
STEPS TO APPLY FOR NJ PROCESSOR/HANDLER LICENSE
Anyone processing or handling hemp in the State of New Jersey must successfully complete the full application process with the New Jersey Department of Agriculture (NJDA):
- Complete the Processor/Handler License Application
- Pay (a) the $50 nonrefundable application fee AND (b) a license fee, calculated using the Fee Schedule (page iii)
- Submit completed items from Steps 1-2 above to:
NJDA, Division of Plant Industry
P.O. Box 330
Trenton, NJ 08625
Email submissions will not be accepted
Click here for more information regarding the 2021 NJ Hemp Instructions and Attachments
No matter what aspect of the hemp industry you intend to participate in, the attorneys at Leaf Legal, P.C. are able to help you navigate the in-flux hemp laws.